How long do I have to file a car accident injury claim in Texas?

The statute of limitations on filing bodily injury claims, or any other type of personal or car accident injury claim, is 2 years. In both civil and criminal litigation, most types of cases can only be pursued within a limited window of time. These timeframes are sometimes referred to as the “statute of limitations” and both crimes and personal injury cases are subject to them.

If you’ve been in a car accident, your injury claim is only valid for a short amount of time, so it’s advisable to speak with a Texas accident attorney as soon as you are able to.

This means that after 2 years from the date of the accident, you will no longer be able to file suit or bring a claim against the defendant (the person or party you are accusing of negligence). 

There are some rare circumstances in which an exception is made, the most common of which includes the injury of a minor. In these cases, Texas extends the statute of limitations until the child’s 20th birthday. This extension is made without regard to the child’s age at the time of the accident, and includes wrongful death claims in addition to bodily injury claims. 

Considering statute of limitations and the time it takes to prepare and gather the evidence vital to an injury case, it’s best to get in touch with an attorney right away. A lawyer understands how to fight for fair insurance settlements for pain and suffering damages, along with physical injuries.

Contacting a Texas Accident Attorney 

When you need help with your car accident injury claim, educate yourself about what you can expect in your efforts to settle your claim. Order this free guide for Texas accident victimsand learn:  
  • What to ask a lawyer before hiring them to take your case.
  • The most common reasons that bodily injury claims fail.
  • What you can do to protect your car accident injury claim.
  • How to determine if you are eligible for insurance settlements for pain and suffering and other non-economic damages. 
Not all accident cases require the help of an attorney and we can help you to determine whether yours is one of those cases! If you are ready to get started with your case, we urge you to contact us today for a FREE case evaluation – 512-472-7799.