Involved in a Texas Accident? The Law Regarding seat belts
According to Texas law:
- A child who is at least 15 and riding in a passenger vehicle that has seat belts must be buckled up. An offense is punishable by a fine from $25 to $50.
- Anyone operating a passenger vehicle with seat belts and transporting a child younger than 17 must have the child buckled up provided there are seat belts in the vehicle, as long as the child is not required to be in a child safety seat. An offense is a fine of $100-$200.
After a car accident in Texas, your personal injury claim could be weakened if it is determined that you broke any seat belt or child restraint laws. To preserve your legal rights, you should have a Texas accident law firm review your case and explain your options.
As statistics verify, vehicle accidents are among the most dangerous accidents in Texas. In 2009, there were 3,071 fatalities in the state, according to the National Traffic Highway Safety Administration. Keep your child buckled up on the road.
Consult an Experienced Austin Car Accident LawyerBefore you take the important step of hiring a lawyer, educate yourself about what you can expect from a Texas personal injury claim after your accident in Austin, Texas. Order this free guide for Texas accident victims and learn:
- What to ask a lawyer before hiring them to take your case.
- The most common reasons a Texas personal injury claim will fail.
- What you can do to protect your injury claim.
Not every accident case requires the help of a car accident attorney. We can help you to determine whether yours is one of those cases! If you are ready to get started with your case, we urge you to contact us today for a FREE case evaluation – (512) 472-7799.