Neither uninsured motorist coverage nor underinsured motorist coverage is required by Texas law.  These coverages protect you in accidents with driver's who do not have adequate insurance coverage to pay for your medical bills, lost wages, or other damages.
You can obtain uninsured or underinsured coverage to whatever limit you can afford.  Texas only requires drivers to carry 30/60 insurance.  This means that it is legal to drive with insurance coverage that will only pay $30,000 for a single injury and $60,000 for all injuries sustained in an accident.  Because this minimum coverage is so low, it is a good idea to purchase uninsured or underinsured coverage to protect your own finances in the case of an accident.
 

Consult an Experienced Austin Car Accident Lawyer

Before you take the important step of hiring a lawyer, educate yourself about what you can expect from a Texas personal injury claim after your accident in Austin, Texas. Order this free guide for Texas accident victims and learn:  
  • What to ask a lawyer before hiring them to take your case.
  • The most common reasons a Texas personal injury claim will fail.
  • What you can do to protect your injury claim. 

Not every accident case requires the help of a car accident attorney. We can help you to determine whether yours is one of those cases! If you are ready to get started with your case, we urge you to contact us today for a FREE case evaluation – (512) 472-7799.

David Todd
Connect with me
Austin TX Family Law, Personal Injury and Eminent Domain Attorney